Reckless Driving in Virginia: High Speed Reckless Driving

Over the past two years, jurisdictions in Central Virginia have seen a sharp increase in high speed reckless driving cases.  Numbers like 140 mph on the highways of central Virginia were never seen, however these numbers are increasing.  Cases involving 90 mph and higher are a daily if not hourly occurrence in the Commonwealth.

It is important to know that any speed over 20 miles per hour or over 85 mph is considered reckless driving in Virginia.  Reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor that carries the possibility of 12 months in jail, a $2,500 fine and a 6 month license suspension.  These cases also carry 6 negative points on your driving record.  Reckless driving charges stay on your driving record for 11 years, and stay on your criminal record forever.  While most reckless driving cases typically do not carry the threat of actual jail time, in most jurisdictions if you are travelling over 30 mph over the speed limit or over 90, the Court will strongly consider sending you to jail.   Judges will not hesitate to incarcerate or take the driver’s license of those travelling these speeds.

Proper mitigation, such as community service, specialized driving courses and other actions can make it less likely that you spend time in jail for speeding.  Contact the criminal and traffic attorneys at Winslow, McCurry, & MacCormac to see what you can do to keep your license and stay out of jail.