Don’t Let Go of That Balloon!

Effective July 1st, 2021, the Virginia legislature has passed a bill making it a civil penalty for anyone over the age of sixteen (16) to knowingly release a non-biodegradable balloon. Any person 16 years or age or older, or an corporation found in violation of this new law shall be assessed a $25 fine per balloon. Payments of these fines will go to the Game Protection Fund. This new law comes in an effort to protect the Commonwealth of Virginia’s natural flora and fauna and encourage citizens of the Commonwealth to find more environmentally friendly ways to celebrate and commemorate special occasions. Some recommended alternatives to releasing candles include planting trees, holding a candlelight vigil or releasing bubbles.

If you have questions regarding any changes in Virginia’s Civil Code, please feel free to contact our firm at 804-423-1382 or We are happy to schedule a one-on-one consultation between you and one of our knowledgeable attorneys to get your legal questions answered.