Chesterfield and local area DUI and DWI charges on the rise.

It was recently reported that Chesterfield County made over 100 DUI arrests in April of 2016.  This is an increase in arrests in comparison to the same time period last year.  One reason may be that the police have set up sobriety checkpoints in Midlothian, Chesterfield and Henrico.  As police make more arrests, more people face the penalties of a Driving under the Influence conviction.

In Virginia, a DWI/DUI conviction is a class 1 misdemeanor that carries up to twelve months in jail and a $2,500 fine.  If your blood alcohol content is above a .15, then you face a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 5 days.  If your BAC iss over a .20, then you face a mandatory minimum sentence of 10 days in jail.  A second DUI increases the mandatory jail, and a third DUI is a felony charge.  All DUI/DWI charges in Virginia require the installation of an ignition interlock system.

A DUI arrest can carry many consequences other than jail, including a loss of license, loss of employment, and an increase in car insurance.  If you have been charged with a DUI or DWI in Chesterfield or Henrico County, consult the DUI defense attorney’s at Winslow & McCurry at 804-423-1382.